Academy Faculty Scholars

Academy Faculty Scholars are recognized for their commitment and dedication to teaching, pedagogical innovation, and inclusive learning environments. They are role models for the future professoriate to emulate, and serve as mentors to Academy members, resource persons in Academy workshops and events, and serve on the Academy Fellows selection committee.

Meet our Academy Faculty Scholars:

Dr. Lori A. Blanc, Assistant Professor of Practice, Biological Sciences*
Dr. Anne Brown, University Libraries
Dr. Benjamin Chambers, Associate Professor of Practice, Engineering Education
Prof. Terry Lynn Clements, Program Chair, Landscape Architecture
Dr. Jacob R. Grohs, Assistant Professor, Engineering Education
Dr. Kwame Harrison, Associate Professor, Sociology*
Mr. Matt James, Assistant Professor of Practice, Engineering Education
Dr. David Knight, Assistant Professor and Assistant Department Head for Graduate Programs, Engineering Education
Dr. Matthew Komelski, Instructor, Human Development
Dr. Jordan Laney, Instructor, Religion & Culture#
Dr. Joe Merola, Professor, Chemistry*
Dr. Brian Murphy, Professor, Fish and Wildlife Conservation*
Dr. Homero Murzi, Associate Professor of Practice, Engineering Education
Dr. Amy Nelson, Associate Professor, History*
Dr. Donald Orth, Thomas H. Jones Professor, Fish and Wildlife Conservation*
Dr. Gregory T. Purdy, Research Assistant Professor, Industrial & Systems Engineering
Dr. Michael Saffle, Professor, Religion and Culture*
Dr. David Garner Burton Schmale III, Professor, Plant Pathology, Physiology, and Weed Science*
Dr. Anthony Szczurek, Political Science and International Studies
Dr. Mohammed Seyam, Visiting Assistant Professor, Computer Science#
Dr. Ann M. Stevens, ProfessorFood Science and Technology, Biological Sciences*
Dr. Jill Sible, Associate Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education, Office of the Provost*
Dr. Peter Wallenstein, Professor, History*
Ms. Jane Wemhoener, Senior Instructor and Coordinator-International Programs, English*
Dr. Lily Yang, Food Science and Technology

*Also Founding Academy Faculty Scholar
#Also Academy Fellow

Founding Academy Faculty Scholars:
Dr. Shelli Fowler, Interim Dean, University College and Director of the Bachelor of Interdisciplinary Studies, Virginia Commonwelath University. Former Senior Director, Networked Pedagogies and Professional Development, Technology-enhanced Learning and Online Strategies, Virginia Tech
Dr. Robert Siegle, Professor Emeritus, College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences. Director, Center for 21st Century Studies
Dr. Terry Cobb, Associate Professor, Management.